My (Almost) Free Halloween

Last week I was feeling pretty smug about how I was not going to spend a dime for Halloween, yet still be able to give my son a costume and treats for the little goblins who come by my house on the 31st.

After all, I’d been keeping a treat box all year where I put small toys from our periodic clean out of my son’s toy bins and Hot Wheels collection. (This is my third year of not giving out candy; last year I bought glow-in-the-dark eyeballs and dinosaur tattoos.) I also added some Mardi Gras beads I had (those were popular last year among girls and boys alike) and some child-size bangles my boss brought back from India (these were intended for the kids in the tutoring program where I volunteer, but I don’t think she’ll mind that I snagged a few for Halloween purposes). Here’s what the trick-or-treaters who come to my door will have to choose from:

My 5-year-old is obsessed with race cars, so it was no surprise what he wanted to be for Halloween this year. I thought we could make him a car and sure enough, I found instructions online. We had all the materials on hand: a cardboard box, paints, paper plates, milk jug caps, string, construction paper.

Then I got the bright idea of giving the car real headlights–those stick-on LED tap lights you can get to go under your kitchen cabinets. OK, just under $5 for 2 of those, not bad. Oh yeah, plus batteries (rechargeable of course) …

But then I thought, what will he wear with the car? I didn’t want to shell out money for a driver costume when I was putting all this effort into making a costume. So I decided I should get him a NASCAR cap. $10 on eBay. The nice thing is, he can wear it well beyond Halloween without looking funny, so that’s still kind of a green choice, right?

The very next day I downloaded a “buy 4 items, get the 5th free” coupon from the thrift store Value Village. I went shopping for tops for myself, but glanced at the kids’ costumes and–there was a NASCAR driver costume in my son’s size! It ended up being the free item. Score!

All in all, still a very green Halloween, I think. 🙂

This post is part of the 2011 Greening your Halloween Blog Tour brought to us by Green Planet Parties, Green Halloween, Green Gift Guide, Surf Sweets and A Little Bit of Momsense

About raincitykitty

Feeling disconnected seems like part of the modern condition. I want to establish stronger connections--with my family, friends, nature, the food I eat, the things I use everyday. I'm a mom, wife, daughter, professional editor, volunteer tutor, voracious reader and consumer of chocolate, but most of all, I'm a part of this earth and want to live responsibly on it. It's a continuing journey and I hope you'll join me on it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My (Almost) Free Halloween

  1. Cass Nevada says:

    I love the selection tray of irresistible odds and ends–that’s brilliant!

    • Thanks Cass! I just realized I forgot to include about a dozen bottles of bubbles in the picture–they’re left over party favors from Max’s birthday (also race car themed–hopefully we’ll have a lot of boy trick or treaters).

Leave a Reply

